Law Reform Committee


Capped Costs Pilot: PD 51W – feedback request

PLA Law Reform Committee are requesting members feedback on Capped Costs Pilot: PD 51W A voluntary Capped Costs Pilot commenced in certain Business and Property Courts on 14 January 2019 and will run for 2 years.  It concerns cases valued up to £250,000.  The Pilot will be evaluated to assess whether there is demand for such a scheme […]

27th Apr 2019 Law Reform Committee Read more

PLA Survey – Unopposed Business Lease Renewals Pilot in First Tier Tribunal

Unopposed lease renewals under Part II of the Landlord and Tenant Act 1954 issued in Central London County Court are now being transferred automatically to the First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber) (“FTT”) under a mandatory pilot scheme which started on 1 January 2018. Under the scheme, parties must adhere to a compressed 20 week timetable, save […]

21st Mar 2019 Law Reform Committee Read more

CLCC Professional Court User Surgery- 20 March 2019

Central London County Court are offering appointments for a Professional Court User Surgery on Wednesday 20 March 2019 where you can go along with details of a particular case and have your issues resolved.  This is an opportunity to meet with senior members of the administration team. You can book by emailing and providing details […]

13th Mar 2019 Law Reform Committee Read more

EG article: Property litigators give their verdict

PROPERTY LAW REFORM NEEDED TO BOOST ‘GLOBAL BRITAIN’ The Property Litigation Association has canvassed its members on major areas of property law to ascertain whether they are still fit for purpose and to help prioritise those ripe for reform. In this article for Estates Gazette, Mathew Ditchburn, Chair, PLA Law Reform Committee, discusses the results […]

11th Mar 2019 Consultations Read more

Powers for dealing with unauthorised development and encampments – consultation

To read the response from the PLA to the Govenment consultation on the law and powers to deal with unauthorised development and encampments click here. The PLA response was based on information provided by PLA members in the following firms:   Actons CMS – Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang Eversheds Sutherland Higgs & Sons Hogan Lovells Howard Kennedy […]

14th Oct 2018 Consultations Read more

Consultation to Cap Unreasonable Behaviour Costs – Tribunal Procedure Committee (TPC) agrees PLA’s Proposals

The Tribunal Procedure Committee (TPC) have decided not to cap the costs recoverable under Rule 13(1)(b) for unreasonable behaviour.  The TPC concluded, in agreement with the PLA’s Law Reform Committee proposal, that steps should be taken to publicise the guidance in Willow Court Management Company (1985) Limited v Alexander in a clear form to parties […]

12th Jul 2018 Consultations Read more

PLA Law Reform Committee and engagement with HMCTS

The PLA Law Reform Committee has had meetings with HMCTS in respect of their wide-ranging reform programme. Below is a link that contains both a video link to a recent roadshow event and also a pdf of a Reform Update dated May 2018. The Update highlights the current and proposed reforms HMCTS is working […]

13th Jun 2018 Consultations Read more

Minutes of PLA – LRC Committee – 22.02.17

In Attendance Kerry Glanville (Chair) Stuart Wortley Danielle Drummond-Brassington Peter Bourke Mathew Ditchburn Dellah Gilbert Bryan Johnston Natalie Johnston Gary Lawrenson (by invitation) Tim Sheed (by invitation) Apologies Emily Wood Jacqui Joyce Charlotte Tyfield Thekla Fellas Paul Barker Click here for the LRC Minutes – 22.02.17.

22nd Feb 2017 Law Reform Committee Read more

Minutes of PLA – LRC Committee – 21.10.15

In Attendance Keith Conway (Chair) Mathew Ditchburn Bryan Johnston Paul Barker Charlotte Tyfield Kerry Glanville Dellah Gilbert Jacqui Joyce Peter Bourke Hayley Harris Duncan Freeman (by invitation and telephone) Natalie Johnston (by telephone) Apologies Danielle Drummond-Brassington Emily Wood Stuart Wortley Click here for the LRC Minutes – 21.10.15

21st Oct 2015 Law Reform Committee Read more

Minutes of PLA – LRC Committee – 25.09.15

In Attendance Keith Conway (Chair) Mathew Ditchburn (by telephone) Bryan Johnston Paul Barker Emily Wood Charlotte Tyfield Kerry Glanville Stuart Wortley Dellah Gilbert Duncan Freeman (by invitation and telephone) Apologies Jacqui Joyce Peter Bourke Danielle Drummond-Brassington Hayley Harris Natalie Johnston Click here for the LRC Minutes – 25.09.15

24th Sep 2015 Law Reform Committee Read more