About the PLA

The Property Litigation Association (PLA) is a members' organisation established in 1995 for legal professionals specialising in all aspects of commercial, residential and agricultural property litigation.

We organise member training and events, distribute news and thought leadership, publish case reviews, provide expert opinion and campaign for improvements in property law.

Our objectives are:

  • to promote specialist property litigation skills within the property industry and among others with interest in property;
  • to provide an active member network for the exchange of information;
  • to promote education and training in property litigation;
  • to serve as a public voice for property law through our media and public affairs campaigns.

About property litigation

By property litigation we mean the resolution of contentious property matters, including professional negligence claims relating to property transactions and advice, by means of litigation and other forms of dispute resolution. 

The Articles of Association

Our members

Our success depends on the ideas and involvement of our members. We regularly run surveys and consultations to capture member perspectives on specific topics, and members are welcome to contact us with questions and comments. 

Our members come from law firms of all shapes and sizes across the UK and Ireland – from sole practitioners through to international law firms – and everyone is welcome. All current members of the PLA are listed in our Members Directory.

Members Directory

Judge Elizabeth Cooke, President of the PLA

Judge of the Upper Tribunal, Lands Chamber

Judge Elizabeth Cooke was appointed as President of the PLA in March 2022.

Previous Presidents

  • Liz Peace CBE (2017-2022)
  • Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury (1995-2017)

President's inaugural message

Executive Committee

Mark Reading, Chair

Mishcon de Reya LLP 
020 3321 7084

Rebecca Campbell, Vice Chair & Hon Secretary

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner
020 3400 4791

Lindsey Whittle, Hon Treasurer

Trowers & Hamlins LLP
020 7423 8669 / 07929 746217

Kate Andrews, Chair, Education & Training Committee

Hamlins LLP

Paul Barker, Chair, PLA Regions

Gowling WLG
0121 393 2389

Chhavie Kapoor, Chair, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Committee

Mishcon de Reya
020 3321 6189

Tim Reid, Chair, Website & Marketing Committee

Hogan Lovells International LLP
020 7296 5873

Frances Richardson, Chair, Wellbeing Committee

Addleshaw Goddard LLP, London

Rachael Studman, Chair, Junior PLA Committee

07818 523029

Paul Tonkin, Chair, Law Reform Committee

Hogan Lovells International LLP


Our regional members are vital to the PLA's continued growth and success. PLA membership is organised into nine regional groups, with each providing their own training, support networks and opportunities to share best practice. 

The Chair of the Regional Committee also sits on our Executive Committee, which meets on a monthly basis and ensures the voices of our regional members are heard.

Meet the regional Committee Chairs

Former Chairs

  • 2022 - 2023: Dellah Gilbert
  • 2021 - 2022: Mathew Ditchburn
  • 2020 – 2021: Gary Lawrenson
  • 2019 – 2020: Kerry Glanville
  • 2018 – 2019: Bryan Johnston
  • 2017 – 2018: Martin Edwards
  • 2016 – 2017: Alison Hardy
  • 2015 – 2016: Keith Conway
  • 2014 – 2015: Louise Clark
  • 2013 – 2014: Jonathan Ross
  • 2012 – 2013: Daniel Levy
  • 2011 – 2012: Paul Greatholder
  • 2010 – 2011: Jacqui Joyce
  • 2009 – 2010: Joanna Lampert
  • 2008 – 2009: Neil Benson
  • 2007 – 2008: Tim Fogarty
  • 2006 – 2007: Stuart Wortley
  • 2005 – 2006: John Hewitt
  • 2004 – 2005: Antony Phillips
  • 2003 – 2004: Jason Hunter
  • 2002 – 2003: Ian Brierley
  • 2001 – 2002: Jeremy Grose
  • 2000 – 2001: Matthew Marsh
  • 1999 – 2000: Iain Travers
  • 1998 – 1999: Rob Highmore
  • 1997 – 1998: Katie Bradford
  • 1996 – 1997: Chris Hancock
  • 1995 – 1996: Ron Hogan

Academic Members

In order to strengthen our links with academia and promote the area of property litigation as a career choice for undergraduates, the PLA offers Associate Membership to academics specialising in property law.

Academic members as at October 2022

  • Prof Susan Bright, University of Oxford
  • Chris Bevan, Durham University
  • Emily Carroll, Birmingham Law School
  • Prof Simon Cooper, Aston University
  • Prof Martin Dixon, University of Cambridge
  • Amy Goymour, University of Cambridge
  • Prof Michael Haley, Keele University
  • Prof Nick Hopkins, University of Reading
  • James Lee, King’s College, London
  • Dr Emma Lees, University of Cambridge
  • Prof Sarah Nield, University of Southampton
  • Dr Brian Sloan, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Lisa Whitehouse, Hull University

Honorary Members

Since 2015, we have offered Honorary Membership to leading property lawyers who have made an outstanding contribution to the Association. Honorary Membership is limited to one or two appointments per year and only awarded to exceptional candidates.


  • Kerry Glanville


  • Sheriff Craig
  • Deputy Master Marsh


  • Nicholas Dowding QC
  • Wendy Miller


  • Katie Bradford
  • Jeremy Hudson


  • Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury, President of the PLA for some 20 years
  • Vivien King
  • Suzanne Lloyd Holt

Latest news from the PLA

  • Insights and impressions from UKREiiF

    19th Jun 2024

    This year, the Property Litigation Association sent its first ever delegation to UKREiiF – the UK’s Real Estate Investment and Infrastructure Forum – in the form of our Chair, Mark Reading. Mark shares his insights, impressions and key takeaways from the UK property industry’s most important event.
    Read article
  • The PLA at UKREiiF

    28th Mar 2024

    This May, PLA Chair Mark Reading and Vice Chair Rebecca Campbell will be attending the UK’s Real Estate Investment and Infrastructure Forum – or UKREiiF – the most important event in the UK property industry calendar, to represent the views of PLA members.
    Read article
  • PLA Alan Langleben Memorial Blog Competition 2024

    15th Mar 2024

    This year's Alan Langleben Memorial Blog Competition is now open - answers are sought in no more than 500 words to the following question: “Everyone has a right to a decent home” (Michael Gove, White Paper “A fairer private rented sector”).
    Read article